Forget Selachophobia, Let’s Swim with Sharks at Karimun Jawa

I don’t know about you but I’m afraid of sharks.

One of the scariest thing I imagined myself is being underwater and got shark attacked.

Let me tell you a little secret, I had selachophobia – fear of shark (not sure how bad) since I was little. Thanks to Jaws, I was so terrified by the shark in the movie that I had crazy ideas of getting shark attacked in the bath tub.

However that was decades ago and those silly days are over. I can now safely relax in a bath tub without thoughts of a shark jumping out of the water, but unfortunately sometimes I still have to confront this fear when I’m in the sea; swimming, snorkling.

Despite the fact that sharks terrifies me, I’ve got to say that I’m glad I found a cool place in Karimun Jawa where anyone can jump in the water and play with sharks – almost 100% safe. This place also serves as a conservation area where sharks will be released in open water once ready.

karjaw shark

Yeap it’s real! They aren’t as huge as Jaws’ White Shark, but like any other sharks, they’re energetic and in alert.

Not just sandy white beach and clear blue waters, Karimun Jawa might be one of those places in Indonesia where we can actually swim with sharks for fun 🙂

Where is this place anyway? 

Well, Karimun Jawa is off shore Semarang, Central Java, Indonesia.

With How
Plane Charter planes from Semarang to Dewandaru Airport in Kemujan Island
Ferry From Semarang or Jepara
Island Hopping Rent fisherman boat for about Rp 300,000 (USD 30) / day

More info on ticketing

Much love from Indonesia.

Salam Odyssey

2 responses to “Forget Selachophobia, Let’s Swim with Sharks at Karimun Jawa

  1. Wow, i envy you to have great experience swim with sharks!

    Btw in the picture, where are you?
    I guess you only show your beautiful legs in the picture, LOL

Leave a Reply

